Lavender Blue

My  English Lavender has finally established itself after two years and is taking over from the day lilies next to my deck and patio. Instead of cutting it back last year I left it completely alone, and this spring it ran amok!  Amok! Amok! Amok! 😉  IMG_8923 watermarked IMG_8937 watermarked IMG_8953 watermarked IMG_8974 watermarked I actually was able to smell it the other afternoon when my allergies were giving me a break. It was divine! And the bees love it.  They go about their business busily while I snap pictures. Unfortunately, they are too quick for me to get a good picture of them, but I’ll figure it out someday….. laughing!

And Just for Fun:  Both of my grandmothers used to sing this to me and my sister when we were little – its derived from a very old English Nursery Rhyme – that has MUCH bawdier origins. This version won Burl Ives an Academy Award in 1948, and was his first major chart topper.  Here’s the song reference:

 

14 thoughts on “Lavender Blue

  1. What a treat. It is nice to listen and look at your pictures. I swear they are waving in the breeze. Burl Ives had a such a buttery velvet voice. Take care, BTG

  2. I played the little film about Lavender Blue, Dilly,Dilly. And tears came to my eyes….
    Thank you for that memory! Auntie

    • I think Grandma had this on a 45 or a 38 somewhere. I don’t recall the movie (a bit before my time hahaha) But she may have had the recording by Dinah Shore. I seem to remember a woman singing it….

  3. Lovely pictures of your Garden ….. I do recall that very special song that Mother used to sing when I was small…Wonderful memories. Auntie H.

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

