Emerging

Spring has been slow in arriving to New England this year. It’s been a long, cold,and damp March. But the last few days have given me hope. Bluebird Skies, Birdsong, Brisk Breezes. Yesterday I really felt like we were starting to emerge from winter. We opened the windows and let the fresh air blow through the house. Outside, I noted my day lilies are starting to peek up above ground; and the daffodils have started sending their shoots up for their April debut.

We opened up all the windows again this morning; and The Viking and I (who are child-free today) took our canine kids on a long walk. The wind was cold, but the sunshine felt so good on our faces. We walked on the dike along the Westfield River. There have been a lot of changes over the winter. Smaller islands, new channels. We saw Canadian geese and Mallard ducks on the water for the first time. The Viking informs me that a Bald Eagle has been spotted on the river recently – but we didn’t see it this time out. Liberty the Red-Tailed Hawk is still hanging around, but we didn’t see her either. I must remember to bring my DSLR camera on these meanderings!

20130330-162249.jpg20130330-162226.jpg20130330-162317.jpg20130330-162155.jpg

Sophie and Chewy had a marvelous time exploring along the walkway. Lots of new scents to investigate, and we noted glimpses of fresh green popping up here and there beneath the dry browns and beiges of the winter that doesn’t want to relinquish its grip on us entirely. In addition to the waterfowl, we also saw some cardinals, a few chickadees and a finch (I think it was a finch, anyway). Off in the distance we heard a woodpecker; who was busily looking for his lunch. We also saw quite a few robins. Does anyone remember that song “when the red red robin comes bob-bob-bobbin along”? I can’t get it out of my head now – hahaha!

Now I’m not a big fan of March. Its brown, dreary, drab, muddy, dirty and cold. But I do love seeing all that give way to the green and glorious spring. Especially after the beating we took from Old Man Winter this year. But we are slowly and surely emerging into the warmth of April. I could see it on the faces of the folks we passed on our travels today. Smiling, heads up, and facing into the wind (not hunkered down against it). The Viking didn’t even bring a coat – which he regretted before too long -this is New England after all… 😉

The sun seems to linger in the sky today. The neighborhood kids are out on their bikes. Their happy voices carry on the breeze thats vigorously moving my curtains. The mockingbird in the pine tree is chattering away and sounding like a cat at the moment. Two tired puppies are sprawled, snoring, at my feet. It feels good to emerge today. “Live, Love, Laugh, and Be Happy”. Time for a glass of wine.

7 thoughts on “Emerging

    • Sophie is our 7yr old chocolate lab. She has a seizure disorder, very hyper and won’t stay still for the camera. Aka “Doofus McSniff” and “Derpy Dog”. She and Chewy get along great. He is aka “Señor Fluffy Pants”,and “McGootch”. The psychological damage we do to our pets with these names…..;). Hahaha! Glad you enjoyed the article!

      • We named one of our dogs after Sobe the energy drink and she is relentless. We have two dogs, a cat, and a lizard who eats crickets. I remember when I was little, I knocked over a cricket bucket in my grandfather’s house before a fishing trip. They were catching crickets for months on end, so I am very careful when we dump the crickets into his glass cage. Take care, BTG

  1. Daffodills have been up for about a month now. Had a cold winter, but march busted out warm and pretty much stayed that way. It’s been in the 70’s last few days, and spring has sprung. Tulips are coming up, and trees are budding.

    Liked the pics of the river. Reminds me of the river when I was young.

    Good post

    • Thanks! I love Tulips! Amelia Park here in town has some GORGEOUS tulip beds. It got up to 58 degrees here today, but the wind made it feel much colder. Shadows are starting to get long, and it’s so nice to have it light past supper time. The catkins are out on the maple trees, and my magnolia is budding. We’re on the verge! Huzzah! Finally!

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

