I Waste So Much Time – but Maybe Not

I waste so much time.  Not really, but yeah… Tonight is one of those nights. My patience has been tried this evening.   Oh, nothing horrendous mind you. Just feeling intruded upon a tad bit.  So, my remedy this evening has been to sit out here on the computer, update my iPad, mess around with iTunes, blog, and drink – tonight my adult beverage of choice is Sailor Jerry – 92 proof rum,  and coke – in case anyone is interested.  I’ve had 2 so far – in a ball mason jar. 😉

My evening playlist whilst I imbibe has included but is not limited to: Billy Joel: A Matter of Trust;  Alan Jackson: Remember When, 1910 Fruitgum Co: 123 Red Light, The Archies: Sugar, Sugar,  Bay City Rollers: SATURDAY Night;  Apocalyptica: The Unforgiven, Dolly Parton and Vince Gill: I Will Always Love You. The Penguins: Earth Angel, Richie Valens: Donna 😉 , Rammstein: Du Hast,  The Ramones: I Wanna Be Sedated, Susan Sarandon and Barry Bostwick : Dammit Janet , Rihanna: Disturbia, The Partridge Family: I Think I Love You, The Everly Brothers: Devoted to You, The Bee Gees: You Should Be Dancing, How Can You Mend a Broken Heart?; KC &The Sunshine Band: Boogie Shoes;  Santo and Johnny: Sleepwalk; Sinatra: Summer Wind and Something Stupid,  Aerosmith: Crazy, Carl Orff: O Fortuna, Red Hot Chili Peppers: Snow (Hey Oh), Lesley Gore: You Don’t Own Me, Fleetwood Mac: Landslide (thinking of you Kathi!), King Pee Wee and his Golden West Cowboys: Slowpoke; Simon & Garfunkel: Homeward Bound, Old Friends (Love You C!), Feelin Groovy, and Hazy Shade of Winter. Betcha didn’t know The Bangles actually covered that one and its an S&G original.  And, I forgot to mention that I’m singingAs loudly as possible – with the porch door closed in deference to those that are sleeping. Its been a very long time since I have wasted time in this fashion and it feels GREAT!

Oh yeah – the soundtrack for “Mamma Mia” is on now – and I’m getting verklempt singing along to “Slipping Through My Fingers”    but I’m not changing the music.

” I try to capture every minute.”… “Sometimes I wish that I could freeze the picture, and save it from the funny tricks of time.”   ‘Slipping Through My Fingers

I get in these moods occasionally.  I have to admit its been quite awhile since I’ve sat out here and belted out a few tunes and had a few drinks to go along with my solo jam session.  My oldest is out with her friends, my baby (see above)  – gone to bed,  and the Viking went night night several hours back because he has to work early tomorrow (going in for 5 am).  I’ve got iTunes on Shuffle and just letting it do its thing while I write. Having some fun now my friends!

And just to paint a picture for you – I’m also dancing in my seat where appropriate. And, when is it appropriate not to? Its my party and I’ll dance if I want to…. LOL. John Lennon once said  “Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted.”  I’m  having a blast so I guess my time isn’t being wasted.  I choose to look at it as recharging ye olde batteries. My musical taste is quite eclectic as you can tell from the playlist I mentioned.  But what is it about music that is so emotional?  Songs take me right back to the place in time -which leaves me melancholy, yes – but also quite happy in a strange way. If cotton is the fabric of our lives, Music is the thread, connecting it all.  How many times has your day been made by hearing a song you haven’t heard in AGES and remembering the lyrics instantly?

Hearing Sinatra singing Summer Wind brings me to the last dance I ever had with my Dad.  It was literally almost 2 years after he passed away before I could listen to anything by Sinatra at all. The Bee Gees, KC and The Sunshine Band take me straight back to high school, The Partridge Family, The Archies, Simon and Garfunkel bounce me into my tweens. Slowpoke brings me to my childhood with my Gramma Emma singing it to me while I sat in her lap.  And anything by The Everly Brothers or Paul Anka brings me right to my kitchen in Blandford – singing harmony with my Mom.

This has been good for my soul – although I will likely pay for it with a big headache in the morning (I’m on drink #4 now)  But yeah, I’m having one helluva time – wasting time… I highly recommend it.

Johann Pachelbel – Variations on the Kanon

Aaron Lewis – Massachusetts

Green Day – Good Riddance [Time Of Your Life]

James Blunt – Goodbye My Lover

Israel “IZ” Kamakawiwo‘ole – Over The Rainbow/What A Wonderful World

17 thoughts on “I Waste So Much Time – but Maybe Not

  1. Were you named after a Ritchie Valens song? Thank goodness you were not called La Bamba. My daughter and wife would love your Mamma Mia selection. I must get the DVD for my daughter’s Christmas present. You had an eclectic mix of music. I am huge Billy Joel fan and keep waiting for Jenni to anoint him on one of her Tunes Tuesday posts. “Bottle of red, bottle of white…it all depends upon your appetite.” Take care. BTG

    • Loved the fact that Pierce Brosnan shouted my name in that movie! Was named after my Uncle Donald (Dads best friend) and my Moms youngest sister, Jean. Im making Chicken and Dumplings with apple pie and ice cream for dessert, gearing up for S3/E2 of The Walking Dead. Enjoy your evening!

  2. Pingback: History and Permanance | And Deforest Kelly as Dr. McCoy

  3. Oh, well done Momma!!! First off, you are likely the only other person on the face of this earth that knows Santo and Johhny and Sleepwalk. This has always been one of my top 10 all time favorites. In my youth, I leaned towards instrumentals, and liked the Ventures, Ferrite and Teicher, Mancini, etc.

    Secondly, I did a lot of my imbiding while defending our nation, so I’m pretty much limited to one or two drinks, such as a beer or wine now-a-days. Can you believe I started drinking Canadian Club on the rocks? I was dating a much older woman at the time, and I tried to be sophisticated and cool, like she was. LOLOL! But I digress.

    Anyway, there I times I turn the music up loud, (I have almost 2000 songs on my computer/iPad,) and always on random play, so I never know what’s next. Then I might be in the shop, or on the deck, or sitting in my favorite chair, and I read or sing out loud or even dance to the music. Oh, did I mention I never do this when Pat is home??? I know she also does it when I am gone. \

    Anyway, the whole point of these musical interludes is that it is a cartharsis for the soul, a cleansing of the dusty shelves and dark corners of our minds, where we accumulate lots of sludge that occasionally needs cleaning out.

    I hope you had fun, and enjoyed the night. Time wasted laughing or smiling is never time wasted.

    Best

    Barney

    • I’m still up – listening to Celtic Music Now John Williams and Dean MaGraw St Anne’s Reel and The Flowers of Edinburgh and Teddy O’Neil…. I’m still having fun! And you hit it on the head CATHARSIS! Hugs! D.

      • Been there, done that Girl!!! We both get a kick out of it. Pat’s away in So. Calif in a golf tournament she is playing. I would be doing the exact same thing right now, ‘cept I have the world’s worst head cold! talk about bad timing.

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

