Changes

20121018-203432.jpg

We are born, we live, we die. A simple sentence. Yet what occurs between those two commas is everything. In order to truly do this, sometimes we must embrace change as eagerly as a new lover. Sometimes, we must accept it, matter of factly – as we accept that the earth is round and the sun rises in the east. It serves no good purpose to fight it. We are human, it is our nature to adapt.

We must also recognize that our time here is finite. The Fates, capricious bitches that they are, snip the threads of life too soon for some of us. Which, in my feeble mind, makes it all the more important for me to do something with my life.

There’s an expression going around these days: YOLO (you only live once). Truth. Yet all too often I see it used as an excuse for ridiculously self indulgent, immature behavior. It’s the “Gimme Generation”s self-entitled slogan du jour. But it doesn’t have to be.

We live. Once. I would like to be part of the changes I want to see in the world. I hope I already am. I want to look in the mirror when I wake up and see someone who made a difference to someone else. Some days that’s difficult. Anyone who knows me knows I’m absolutely not -ever- at my best in the morning, so gazing into a reflective surface is going to be a terrifying experience, at least until I’m caffeinated.

Anyway, all humor aside, I just want to point out we don’t have much time, on the grander universal scale at least. We can adapt to change, learn from each other, and grow during the time we have. Rejoicing in our differences, and remembering that we are stronger together BECAUSE of them. Or, we can squander ourselves and extinguish our precious inner light with futile, utterly senseless violence, prejudice, hatred and intolerance. I know what I choose. We are born, we live, we die. Lets make those two words between those commas count for something.

5 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Donna, I did wear purple, except my daughter said it was not a real purple. I would love your comments on my blog from this morning from a book I just finished – “The Rich and the Rest of Us – A Poverty Manifesto.” Take care on chilling out. There is a great Irish band called Altan, you should check out. Here I am telling someone from the Northeast about an Irish band….. BTG

  2. Donna, you are the best. I love diversity and the eclectic. Life would be too boring otherwise. I think if we all lived the mantra to leave the world in a better place, we would be much better off. I guess the only way we can accomplish anything is for each of us to take steps forward living an exemplary life, shining lights on wrongs and encouraging or goading others to do more positive things. My daughter tells me today is Spirit Day which is a stand against bullying. Our kids get it and we can learn from them as much as they learn from us. Bigotry is taught. It hopefully can be untaught. Great post. BTG

    • Thank you! I hope you wore purple today! I’m leaving off the political till after the election. Things are getting so polarized and downright NASTY I just need to step away and get back to positive. I’m decompressing at the moment (see my latest post) I’ll pay for it tomorrow but thinking its worth it tonight! Loving iTunes shuffle right now 😉 Have a great evening! D.

  3. When I first got to know you, I knew I was meeting a person who is going to live life to the fullest “between those commas”. Now I know for sure.

    “There’s an expression going around these days: YOLO (you only live once). Truth. Yet all too often I see it used as an excuse for ridiculously self indulgent, immature behavior. It’s the “Gimme Generation”s self-entitled slogan du jour. But it doesn’t have to be.”

    Exactly true. I love that wisdom and grounded balance you have my dear Donna! Hugs and have yourself a wonderful weekend! Sharon

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

