Fly Away Home

The Viking and I decided to have a rousing game of horseshoes the other evening in the gloaming.  It’s been awhile, and it took me some time to get my range dialed back in again.  I only got a couple of points, but at least I can still pitch the shoes up to the post  😉  I’ve taken to bringing the camera with me when I am outside lately.  I  saw a ladybug and decided to find out if I could possibly get some macro shots without using the telephoto lens. These were taken with the kit lens only.  Of course I immediately thought of the nursery rhyme but couldn’t remember  beyond “Ladybug ladybug fly away home…. ” I had to google it later – and found the rest of the rhyme a bit disturbing, to say the least. Apparently the rhyme originated in the British Isles,where the insect is referred to as “ladybird”

Source of information found below:  http://www.rhymes.org.uk/ladybug_ladybug.htm

“Ladybird History ConnectionGunpowder Plot Conspirators?
Farmers knew of the Ladybird’s value in reducing the level of pests in their crops and it was traditional for them to cry out the rhyme before they burnt their fields following harvests ( this reduced the level of insects and pests) in deference to the helpful ladybird:

Ladybird, ladybird fly away home,
Your house in on fire and your children are gone”

The English word ladybird is a derivative of the Catholic term ” Our Lady”. The tradition of calling this rhyme was believed to have been used as a seemingly innocent warning cry to Catholic (recusants) who refused to attend Protestant services as required by the Act of Uniformity (1559 & 1662). This law forbade priests to say Mass and forbade communicants to attend it. Consequently Mass was held secretly in the open fields. Laymen were subject to jail and heavy fines and priests to execution. Many priests were executed by the terrible death of being burnt alive at the stake or, even worse, being hung, drawn and quartered. The most famous English recusants were Guy Fawkes and the Gunpowder Plot Conspirators.


The American Version of the Lyrics
It is possible that the word Ladybird was exchanged for Ladybug, in the American version of the nursery rhyme, due the word association with Firebug meaning an arsonist or pyromaniac.  The first publication date was 1865 and the word ladybird was used as opposed to ladybug. There has been some speculation that this Nursery Rhyme originates from the time of the Great Fire of London in 1666″

I found this quite interesting but I prefer the more innocuous version of the rhyme:

Ladybug Ladybug fly away home.  Your house is on fire, your children all roam.   All except one, and that’s little Nan, who sits in her pan, weaving her laces as fast as she can.

I think ladybugs are adorable. They certainly are helpful to any garden.  I just wish that she hadn’t been crawling around on what appeared to be ragweed – which would explain my stuffy nose and the “itchies” I got later…. ;).  Enjoy the pictures!

11 thoughts on “Fly Away Home

  1. Pingback: Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 06/24/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  2. What an amazing post to return to and enjoy again. I certainly prefer your sweet rhyme. Thanks for the info about the origins. Wow. And your photos are spectacular. Darling bright little Ladybugs. And just fyi for fun, Ragweed is air-pollinated, making for hayfever and other yuckiness. A beloved hardy native, the Goldenrod, is insect-pollinated and doesn’t cause hayfever but is often thought to due to similar habitats, appearance…. There’s my unsolicited info for the day. 😀 Love and Hugs, Gina

    • Thanks! ❤ yes it is, particularly since we had a house fire when I was a child (log rolled out of the fireplace) very scary! But the information I looked up was very interesting. Burning fields gets rid of pests and weeds and provides nutrients to the ground. The whole circle of life thing, I guess. I also love that in the last picture the ladybug seems to be smiling!!! ❤

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

