Peanut Butter Sandwiches and Nuclear Radiation

a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, top slice ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, this was the subject of my daily am car ride conversation with my youngest yesterday morning. And you’re probably asking yourself how these two things could possibly be related. So I guess I’ll tell you 😉 – We started talking about things that make us afraid (she read my post about the Headless Horseman); and she said at least I “wasn’t like the lady who was more afraid of peanut butter sandwiches than she was of nuclear radiation”. I confess I was a bit perplexed about this at first; after all, a nuclear accident can potentially kill thousands and injure hundreds of thousands. So why wouldn’t someone be more afraid of that than a pb sammie?
Then, I remembered having to do the Heimlich maneuver on one of my non-verbal clients about 15 years ago. He choked on a peanut butter sandwich and passed out, as he had no way to tell us he was choking. The Heimlich works, by the way. Jill also brought up that many people are allergic to nuts. Peanut butter can actually kill someone with a sensitivity to nuts. And, chances are greater that a person would come in contact with a peanut butter sandwich – as opposed to nuclear radiation.
So in a very strange way, it actually does make sense to be more afraid of that seemingly innocuous sandwich… I always thought there was something vaguely sinister about that Mr Peanut fellow. Another unusual morning conversation at Hacienda del Chaos. (or at least, in the driveway) Too much thinking, and not enough coffee…

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Sandwiches and Nuclear Radiation

  1. Love this! MY daughter is allergic to peanuts and it is more dangerous to us than anything.I love the conversations in the car that lead down all those rabbit trails. And I don’t blame that woman for being more scared of peanut butter than nuclear radiation. You’re right that we come in contact with it more often!

  2. Just found your blog via pioneer woman. And I love this post! My daughter is allergic to peanuts and this is so true. That peanut butter is more dangerous to us than anything!

    • Thank you!! I’m glad you found me! My brother in law’s nephew is so allergic that he can’t even be kissed by someone who’s eaten anything with nuts in it. And steroids have stunted his growth too. Hes a cutie though! If you have a blog site I would love to read it. Please send me a link if you have one! And if 300 lbs down is what you’ve done then THATS AWESOME!!! I’m 120 down after having the band in 2005. Thank you again for stopping by! Love and Hugs! Donna

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

