Fairies

There are fairies at the bottom of our garden. And it’s not so very very far away. You go down by the garden shed, and you keep on straight ahead. I do so hope they’ve really come to stay!

There’s a little wood with moss and beetle in in, and a tiny stream that quietly runs through. You wouldn’t think they’d dare come a merry-making there – Well, they do!

There are fairies at the bottom of our garden, and they often hold a dance on summer nights. The butterflies and bees make such a gentle breeze, and the rabbits all stand ’round and hold the lights.

Did you know that they can sit upon a moonbeam? And pluck a tiny star to make a fan? And dance away up there, in the middle of the air? Well, they can.

There are fairies at the bottom of our garden. And you cannot think how beautiful they are. They all stand up and sing when the fairy queen and king come quietly gliding down upon their car.

Now the fairy king is very proud and handsome. And the fairy queen – can you guess who she may be? She’s a little girl all day, but at night she steals away – Well, it’s ME!

Fairy Offering Posy of Harebells to Elsie, the...

Cottingley Fairies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Rose Amy Fyleman, 1877-1957

This poem has at least a four generations-long bedtime recital tradition in my family. My great-grandmother recited it to her three children; my grandmother – to her four; my mother, to her two; and me – to my two. I just had to look up the author (for years I thought my grandmother actually wrote this!) My Aunt has the poem on a bronze plaque in her garden. I can recite it verbatim from memory, and so can my girls. My grandmother is also the woman who thought it would be appropriate to read “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” to an over-imaginative 7 year old while I was recuperating from surgery.  This would explain much about me  – scarred for life by visions of the Headless Horseman!  lol   Anyway -I found a picture of the Cottingley Fairies that I felt appropriate to include along with my photos, since they were the “inspiration” for the poem to begin with.    I miss you Grandma!

11 thoughts on “Fairies

  1. What a magical piece and what a treasure to have your own little fairy poem which has been passed down from one generation to another. Absolutely precious! I’m glad to meet another fairy friend my dear Donna! Sharon

  2. wow Donna, I could say, this was the sweetest post I’ve read from yours so far! Really appreciated how you shared this special poem and am really honored to read this pretty piece which was passed from generations to generations. I am really inspired to make one for my future children and read them before going to sleep (we’d never experience bedtime stories and poetry way back, not a habit here in our country 😦 ) thank you so much for sharing Donna !!:)

  3. My Dearest Donna, I’ve just finished reading your wonder filled blog, and I cried. Your words not only hit home, but brought forth many memories of my “Mom”, you’re Grandma sitting in our room there on Yale St. She was a delight, and her eyes sparkled when she recited that Special Poem, she so loved….. Thank you, Thank you, for your blog on this day, it cheered me up, and I needed that.. Love you, love you, my darling Donne Jean..
    XOXO. Auntie Hanna

    • And I really did think she wrote that, when I was a kid. These are among the wonderful things I remember about Grandma. How to make the real Lemonade Iced Tea (Nobody did it better) How to make Deacon’s Delight. How to take a walk in the woods (down the dingle) and channel Kate Hepburn while doing it – except Grandpa wasn’t an old poop. lol. Arnold’s bread toast and Alice’s Market Donuts at Camp. Fishing trips on the reservoir with Grandma’s picnic lunch and Grandpa’s fish voodoo calling them right to the hooks.. Great times with 2 of my 3 favorite grandparents!

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

