Long Day, Short Post, Big Sandwich

It’s a busy life I lead, my family leads. Full time jobs, school and then the second full time job of caring for home and family. Sometimes things get left undone, by chance or by choice. It’s crazy hectic and I’m usually bone tired by 9pm. I’m also at the stage in my life where I’m not only caring for my family; but also preparing to assist my remaining parent with health care and living decisions. It’s not super close, but the signs are clearly on the horizon.
Take today for instance. For whatever reasons, Mom’s going to be missing out on precious time with family; milestone events that won’t be repeated. In this case, a college graduation celebration. Accommodation in the form of transportation was offered, and declined. It’s frustrating and sad. I would be more specific but I’m also trying to respect some privacy issues, so please forgive me for being a bit vague. Thank goodness I have my sister and C. We’re in this together, supporting each other. The sandwich generation. I have to stay positive and focused so I can be there not only for my mom, but for my immediate family who needs me too. It’s said God doesn’t give us more than he knows we can handle. As Mother Teresa once responded – “Sometimes I wish He didn’t trust me quite so much”.

11 thoughts on “Long Day, Short Post, Big Sandwich

  1. Pingback: In The Circle | My Magnificent Mess

  2. If your mother declined the invitation, I sort of understand. I will hazard a guess that she is around 80 years old, and probably just doesn’t feel up to the effort it will take to go to the ceremony. I really understand, and I’m 20 years behind her. However, I had trouble when it was MY mother and she often declined these invitations. Age gives you a whole different perspective, though.

    • Hi -She’s going to be 73 in June, but you’re in the ballpark. My head understands, my heart doesn’t. There’s much she could be doing – and isn’t – to improve her health and functioning. I have to remember she is an adult and can make her own decisions. Regardless of how I feel about them, I have to allow her that dignity. Also, none of us (meaning my family and my mom and step dad) are going to the ceremony (not enough tickets) – its an after party of sorts at my brother in law’s parent’s house. So she would have plenty of time to relax, sit etc in an air conditioned home. Anyway, my sister and my niece are OK with things as they stand. My niece is just sad that her grandmother won’t be there. I hope when I get older I just drop dead doing something I like to do (just like my dad did) this mucking about with aging is horrible! Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts, and for stopping by my site! Best, Donna

  3. Life circumstances too often gets in the way of our dreams and how we ideally want to juggle our many roles. May God give you discernment and guidance in how to make your situation work, and may He especially give you the peace that passes all understanding

    • Just thought of something else – peace and patience. At 50, I’m also starting to deal with the dreaded M-word, finding patience can be difficult sometimes. Thank goodness no hot flashes yet!

  4. The authenticity of a full, rich life captured in this one short post. Thinking of you with much love and warmth in my heart to one outstanding woman, mother, daughter, sister and friend! God bless you richly in all you do each day! Sharon

  5. Understood, Donna. I’ve lived what you’re describing, and we’re getting ready for round two through six. Peace be with you, sweet lady, and may Mother Teresa herself intercede for you! — Kelly

    • Hey Kelly, Just like child-rearing, there’s no instruction book for coping with our aging parents either. Thankfully they are adults and can make their own decisions (until they can’t) I just have get ready for that moment but also put it aside until its necessary to address it. (“Get ready for the maybe then forget about it”) That way I don’t stress unnecessarily.

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

