Apples & Oranges. Gratitude for my Daily Servings of Fruit.

It never ceases to amaze me how different and yet similar my girls are to each other. They look alike, (differences in height and eye color notwithstanding) and now that my youngest is older they even sound alike. Both sound like me on the phone – which is fun when my mother calls and doesn’t have the foggiest who she’s talking to… My sister’s even having some difficulty distinguishing who’s who. Jill’s voice is deeper, just in case anyone needs a hint. But that’s pretty much where things begin and end. My girls are both rays of sunshine when my days are cloudy . Their approach to life – not quite so similar.

Is it birth order? My oldest, Chaos, is driven and ambitious. She’s not shy and doesn’t hesitate to speak her mind about anything. A strong believer in fairness and justice – let’s just say you want her in your corner in a disagreement. She’s smart, and very, very passionate about what she believes in. She’ll drop everything to help a friend. My youngest – equally passionate – has a quieter approach. She’s shyer and hesitant to speak publicly. Not as self-confident as her big sister (yet). Mayhem doesn’t always speak her mind. She waits and gauges the climate before she says what she needs to say. She also still likes to snuggle on the couch with her momma occasionally – which Momma is enjoying – because, at 13, that phase probably won’t last much longer.

Neither one of these two hooligans got sent home with me with any instructions whatsoever. Their Dad and I have pretty much winged it since their birth. Followed our hearts and tried to mix in healthy doses of common sense. Making our share of mistakes and discovering along the way that our family is much more resilient, flexible – and stronger- than we had ever thought. I rejoice in their differences, and I love watching their relationship develop and deepen. Like me, they have only one sister. They don’t need to be told to cherish each other. I see it firsthand every day, hear it in the whispers and giggles – evident when they should be sleeping. Or when they’re watching “Legend of Korra” or “Harry Potter”. I know all’s right with the world when I hear my children laughing. My gratitude today is for my family. For my beautiful, smart, strong, wonderful girls. Children I was told I’d never have. The apple and the orange. To my J-Crew: I’m a better person not only because I had you, but because I have you.

Ok its not a great picture, but it was a great night! La Familia! Graduation June 2011

12 thoughts on “Apples & Oranges. Gratitude for my Daily Servings of Fruit.

  1. oh god haha i need to read your blog more thoroughly. i feel like these people know too much about me. ahahaha

  2. Chaos & Mayhem! I like it….sounds like your family should audition for the next AllState commercial šŸ™‚ Very cool write from a very gifted Mom! As with most great posts you ended incredibly strongly:

    “My gratitude today is for my family. For my beautiful, smart, strong, wonderful girls. Children I was told Iā€™d never have. The apple and the orange. To my J-Crew: Iā€™m a better person not only because I had you, but because I have you.” <—– awesome!

    And they are blessed to have you!

    • Thank you! The Chaos and Mayhem thing was from us taking a family trip back in 2004. I used to call them Thing 1 and Thing 2 (Dr Suess) but they got sick of it and asked me to come up with something different. I just checked out your blog and I’m now following. šŸ™‚ I like the whole 5 to 1 thing with regard to compliments and criticisms. As someone who’s been married 27 years next month I can attest to the fact that yes compliments do work well. Thank you so much for stopping by my site. Please come back anytime! Best, Donna

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

