Serendipity and Synchronicity

Ahhh Synchronicity! I had my dose Thursday at lunchtime. My life’s moving ahead at full throttle whether I like it or not. I haven’t had much time to nurture my personal relationships outside of my immediate family – and if I’m being honest, that area needs some work as well. Anyway, I couldn’t tell you the last time I got together with any of my bff’s for girl talk – or any other reason. We try, but something always happens and one or the other of us has to cancel. Stomach virus, car trouble, fibro flare up, family emergency, or just plain tired – the list goes on.

I miss my friends. Sitting with Ann at her kitchen table getting tipsy on purple Jesuses and wine coolers AND solving ALL the world’s problems while we’re at it ;). Meeting up with Irene in Noho for a tramp through the Smith College “Botanical Gardens”, (fancy-schmantzy lingo for the beautiful landscaping they’ve done on campus), batting balloons around, slam dancing, and embarrassing our children at hardcore music shows. Karaoke, Gloucester “Girls Weekends”, all night barbeques, and other adventures with Auntie C. Shopping and socializing with Martha. Fire-pit Time with Lucine and Tim. Watching ‘The Pink Panther Strikes Again’ with my sister and laughing till we cry – and our tummies hurt…. I’ve been thinking of my friends and my sister, a lot.

My eldest had no classes Thursday at school. She’s also been feeling a bit under the weather due in no small measure to the college student’s tendency to burn the candle at both ends. So of course I called her on my noon break to check in. After a brief convo I put the phone back in my purse. No sooner I’d done that then I felt my phone vibrate – it was Irene. I haven’t seen her in forever. “Did you just butt-dial me?” she says. “Nope”, sez I, “more like purse dialed. Whats up?” I literally was just thinking about her not 15 minutes before this happened. Seriously synchronous.

So I spent the next 20 minutes in the diner parking lot, catching up with my dear friend. We’re definitely part of the sandwich generation, she and I. Only she’s of the open-faced variety. ( Her Maddie moved out on her own a few months ago, I’ve still got mine at home). Our parents are getting on in years. Irene’s Dad passed away this winter, and her Mom’s been ill. Her sibs live far away, so she’s had her hands full for sure. Me, my Mom lives down the street, but she hasn’t been all that well either. My sister lives just over an hour away, which isn’t too far in a genuine emergency. But, the family looks to me to keep an eye on things on an everyday level.

Image via photobucket.com

After we caught each other up, she suggested we meet and check out the Lilac Gardens in Amherst in the next week or two. (that’s about halfway between where we both live so that would work nicely at $4.00+ a freakin gallon for gas….). I could get some great pictures, and spend a relaxing few hours in great company.

Then, last evening I found out that my friend Lisa was losing her battle with ovarian cancer. She went home to heaven a few hours ago. I find it even more imperative that I spend meaningful time with those who mean the most to me. Today I spent some wonderful hours up at Stanley Park with my girls. Jocelyn is showing me how to operate the dslr camera I ever so rarely use. I will be sure to post my results soon -amateur as they may be… 😉 The park is kind of in-between blossoming times right now. The daffodils and tulips have gone by, the “rhodies” aren’t blooming yet,and the damage from the October Nor’easter is still painfully obvious. It’s been so windy and cold here – you’d think it was still March. Still, it was great to wander around with the girls and have them show me some things I didn’t know. I just wish I had remembered to bring a warm jacket….

Along the Westfield River

Later, I took a nice long walk with the Viking and the puppies (see previous post – that’s my Norse Warrior on the far right, with Soph and the Chewch lol) It sure was cold today but I enjoyed every minute of the time I spent with all of them. Serendipity. Synchronicity. I don’t intend to let these messages go to waste. I need to plan on some adventures – or at least some “fire-pit on the patio time” with my friends- and more quality time with the family. If my friends passing tells me anything – it’s that life is unpredictable, we must make the most of the moments we are so graciously given by God.

4 thoughts on “Serendipity and Synchronicity

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

