What a Doll! ;D

I had such a great time yesterday afternoon being thoroughly entertained by the Southington High School Drama Club’s presentation of Frank Loesser‘s “Guys and Dolls” my lovely niece Miss Kate had the female lead – Adelaide – and she just killed it!   The kids got chops – no question – and she belts it out as good as Ethel Merman back in the day – without the annoying quaver. (sorry, Ethel – gotta call it like I see it) Anyway,  she and the whole group were wicked fab.  The era the play’s set in is both gritty and glamorous. A girl could be called a doll, a dame, or even a  broad.  The era of seamed stockings, high heels, red lipstick, cigarettes, booze, snazzy suits, and snap brim fedoras. To these kids – a long time ago in a galaxy far far away.  But they nailed it.

I drove my  mom  -aka “Gramma-Gramma”  down for the matinee performance.  Driving on the highway with my mother is an experience unto itself.  She doesn’t like to go fast – and I doubt has taken an interstate in the last 10 years.  I could hear her mumbling the rosary under her breath as we merged onto I-84…. (seriously)  But we got there on time, and even snuck backstage to give Katie her “atta-girl” flowers before the show started.  My tribe was  supposed to come with us, but the Viking was sick (bad head cold/sinus infection) Mayhem had a school project; and Chaos was volunteering at a New Spirit Retreat out near Boston.  So it was me and the G-mom.

We soon found my sister and my brother-in-law and they’d saved us primo seats.  The play was a hoot.  Lots of laughter from the audience in all the right places and the kids ate it up.  Guys and Dolls is first and foremost a love story – 2 different ones actually.  Nathan Detroit and Adelaide; and Sky Masterson and Sarah.  One couple wanders casually through their relationship for 14 years and the other goes from 0-60 in a day.  That’s love for ya!  Katie played her role with a very broad “New Yawk” accent and had a costume change in every scene.    My Dad would have loved the show. In fact – he used to sing “A Bushel and a Peck” to me and my sister when we were little, and to the 4 grandchildren as well.

I love you a bushel and a peck - ya bet your pretty neck I do!

Dad was  in his 20’s in the early 1950’s – and he would’ve gotten a BIG kick of seeing his beautiful “K-K-K-Katie” dressed to kill and belting it out with the best of them.   So I will leave you with some snapshots of the onstage action; and tell you to remember this name –  Kate Miller – she’s gonna be famous – and I’m not just sayin that….

"A Lady doesn't wander all over the room and blow on some other guy's dice..." 'Luck be a Lady'

