You know, that Thing – the Whatchamacallit….

I told you I have issues. Not the least of which are those with word retrieval. Oh don’t get me wrong – the words are there. Right there on the tip of my tongue, ready to materialize. As soon as my brain engages and gets over its case of hiccups. I’m not an idiot -most of the time -lol. I can describe what I want to say using other words (actual sentences even). I could even paint you a picture. I just can’t name it. And, it seems to be the one issue that coffee doesn’t help with. Happens to me all the time, and its gotten worse as I’ve gotten older. I asked a friend who has a Master’s in clinical social work if there was a technical term for this and he said “Yeah, dementia – just kidding”. However, I can’t blame it on “senior moments” because I haven’t forgotten the words. I just can’t say them. Sometimes I’ll just spit out some garbled thing or other – like this morning. When I called body spray/perfume “splooshy spray” (??!!??) I was in a hurry, OK? Don’t judge.

This issue of mine can either be a source of great amusement (splooshy spray…OMG) or huge frustration to my crew –Witness: Hey, please hand me the ………………………….. thing…………………..gie………………….over there(points)………………..you know…………….that thing……………….the whatsit do-hickey thingamabob………………OVER THERE(points again)……………… That…………..right there. Over by the dadgum whatchamacallit that the bread goes in to get burnt. Jeez.

What we have heyah is a failyah to co-mmyuni-cayte.

No kiddin.

Thank you Captain Obvious.

In my defense, I’m usually trying to stay on top of at least 3 or 4 things at once. Like today. I was running down the list of things my younger girl needs to remember to do -or to take with her – before leaving the house. Only in this case I was discussing it with her in the car, while driving – because we overslept and were frantically running out the door at 7:40 this morning. Splooshy spray… good grief. It’ll take me awhile to live that one down. My aphasia (yep, there is a technical term I guess) doesn’t generally happen while I’m relaxed and watching a movie. Go figure.

But I refuse to look at my little problem as a disability. So I’m gonna spin it as a strength. My social worker friend Glenn said I could. My incredibly extensive vocabulary makes it difficult for my brain to scroll through and find the right word(s) quickly.

So there.

4 thoughts on “You know, that Thing – the Whatchamacallit….

  1. So cute! I like Glenn’s way of thinking! My friend was panicked about her cat the other day and she couldn’t think of her sons name. She just pointed and said “hey you! Yeah you! Help me!”. That will take her a while to live down.

Leave a Reply - Please and Thanks!

